KIRKLEATHAM – Local Board Elections

Accreditation The Redcar and Saltburn-by-the-Sea Gazette 07/09/1877.


The first election of nine members to form this board took place on Saturday last (01/09), at Coatham, where the future sitting of the Board will take place. Considerable interest was excited in Coatham on the subject, and the large number of nominations doubtless to some extent perplexed the minds of the voters. Mr. Ralph Woodwark was the returning officer and the business of the election, after the voting papers were collected, took place at the Lobster, in, Coatham, where the first meeting of the new Board is to be held today (07/09). The following are the names of the candidates who went to the poll, and the number of votes recorded for each the first nine being declared duly elected.

Thomas Dawson Ridley, contract  559

James Rutherford, land agent  543

John Hikeley, innkeeper  519

Arthur Henry Turner Newcomen  472

Peter Wallis, farmer  470

John Proud, farmer  428

Edward Robson, mine owner  404

Thomas James, manager  398

William Nelson, builder  390

Thomas Bradley, builder  236

Thomas Watson, builder  182

Thomas Hugh Bell, iron master  181

John Cowl, gentleman  170

James Hogg, ship owner  159

William Cooke Yeo, builder  152

Robert Moore, architect  148

Francis Hewlings Cooke, grocer  111

Thomas Sheil, ship broker  88

John Richard Stubbs, solicitor  88

Alexander Holmes, merchant  84

John Crossley, sanitary pipes manufacturer  74

Thomas William Spink Locke, gentleman  65

Alfred Hill, manager  62

John Imeson, gentleman  52

Walter Johnson, iron merchant  37

Pearson Jackson, joiner  28

William Love, builder  18

Thomas Taylor, shipping agent  17

Robert Mothersdale, gentleman  14

William Lynas, milk seller  13


Lol Hansom December 19, 2014 Kirkleatham - Local Board